Microsoft kills Minecraft


Apparently Microsoft has bought Mojang, the game studio that brought us Minecraft.  I find it hard to think of a worse cultural match than this one – Microsoft has spent the last twenty years, for example, trying to move its customers off a once off license payment and into a subscription model.  It reminds me of the last Microsoft game I ever played (Mechwarrior Vengeance – no, seriously).  Microsoft bought out the Mechwarrior franchise and (IMO) killed the magic.  My guess is that Minecraft’s days (or at least Minecraft’s days of magic) are numbered.

1 Response to “Microsoft kills Minecraft”


  1. 1 Hector 15 January 2015 at 12:37 pm

    That’s really is too bad. I was hoping Notch wouldn’t sell out, but then again, I would too for 2.5 billion USD. That’s a lot of freaking cash!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 279,062 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz