Hating KDE4… Again, if only fleetingly


Hating KDE4… Again, if only fleetingly

Having just sent 100 pages to the printer and have it print out duplex 1-up, with the second side turned the wrong way I am again upset with KDE4.  Not KDE4 per se, but the fact that when I moved to it, stuff got lost, including kprinter (one of the most valuable apps in the history of human endeavour).  This means that printing options are localised in each application and none of the apps remember defaults.  The 50ish wasted pages that I will now have to consign to the wastebin were because I didn’t reset firefox defaults after having just printed something else in firefox with the changes made.  The lack of kprinter really makes printing tedious and when things like this happens, substantially lessens my KDE experience.

I hear tell that kprinter manages to live on in Kubuntu.  Maybe I should move come the next desktop update (due six months after end of life of this OpenSuSE version)?

4 Responses to “Hating KDE4… Again, if only fleetingly”


  1. 1 Chris Samuel 16 June 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I’ve got kprinter on my Ubuntu install, but that’s only because it’s still hanging around from my previous 3.5.10, there doesn’t appear to be anything with that name in KDE4.. :-(

  2. 2 brendanscott 16 June 2010 at 8:31 pm

    :’-(

  3. 3 Chris Samuel 16 June 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I’m currently testing out KDE 4.5 beta 2 but not tested printing and I don’t have anything that is capable of doing double sided at the moment to see if it will remember such things.

  4. 4 brendanscott 16 June 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks for your comments. Please remember me if you do come across something kprinter like.

    I have tried to see if I can define a 2-up duplex printer in CUPS, but to no avail. CUPS has always seemed like black magic to me:

    CUPS Frustration


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 279,059 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz