Awful computer sounds Is it just me?


Awful computer sounds Is it just me?

Practically the first thing I do when I start with a new operating system is to set the sound scheme to silent. I cannot stand things beeping at me all the time.  I was particularly heartened to hear that Tridge had debarked his microwave some months ago (something I’d love to do, but have not the ability).

I post this because I’ve had to turn my mobile phone on and off a couple of times.  Each time it starts up with an annoying, quite loud and medium-high pitched “ping”.  I was thinking to myself that it would be the one thing I would change about the phone. (Although, in retrospect, in-call screen handling leaves a lot to be desired – HTC Desire).

Exactly who thinks all this audio garbage is useful (blind people I guess excepted) – or am I the alien and you all love being surrounded by audio chatter?

2 Responses to “Awful computer sounds Is it just me?”


  1. 1 Anonymous 5 July 2011 at 5:49 am

    I’d like to mute the shutdown and startup sounds of my cell phone, but I guess being somewhat hard of hearing has its advantages. ;-)

  2. 2 ali65 6 July 2011 at 1:04 am

    I work at product development. The beeps our device makes while booting or operated are hated so much around the developers, that the final verification procedure had to add an extra step: “remove the tape from the buzzer”.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,350 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

