Search Engines Suck


Search Engines Suck

Google used to be neat.  You could, through your query string, customise things more or less how you like it.  Well, I can’t anymore because of the hateful Google Instant – why anyone thinks this is a good idea is beyond me.  I don’t want my searches restricted to 10 farquing useless results, forcing me to open endless windows 10 @#$ results at a time.  I want it to spit out 100 so I can skip the cr*p myself.  Well, Google has decided it’s their way or the high way.

So I did something I’ve never done before – I used bing. That, unfortunately, seems just as useless – perhaps moreso, trying to outdo Google in lack of usability.  I don’t want instant site previews popping up with my mouseover.  I don’t want to exchange a cookie just to get basic functionality. I just want a search engine which thinks I’m adult enough to craft my own search terms and browse through my search results.

The utility of searching has decreased markedly over the past couple of years.

3 Responses to “Search Engines Suck”


  1. 1 Russell Coker 3 May 2011 at 10:55 am

    Bing doesn’t support searching for the “+” character, so I can’t search for “bonnie++”. This alone is enough reason to never use it.

    Google also has problems with some punctuation characters but it’s not nearly as bad.

    I’d like to be able to search for arbitrary strings including searching for strings containing quotation characters. EG I’d like to do a search such as ‘”hello world”‘ to get all results containing “hello world” including the quotation characters. I’m not aware of any search engine that supports it.

    I agree that Google isn’t doing what users want. It’s really sad, it’s not like it costs them anything to have an extra field you can use to get more results.

  2. 2 No 5 May 2011 at 6:47 pm

    Totally agreed! Google used to have performance and configurablility and they have messed it up. I used to search that same way as you, 50 or 100 results at a time and skip about the first 15 and then you normally got better results.

    Is it just me or does Google maps no longer work as well as it used to either.

  3. 3 Anonymous 15 August 2011 at 9:11 am

    Google is giving our search habits to the government


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 215,298 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

