Why Newspapers deserve to die


In October I was tossing up whether or not to renew my subscription to the Sydney Morning Herald.  We did – against my better judgement.  When I renewed I told the people on the phone I was basically unhappy with their product.  Since then (2 November) we have received our weekly subscription only for the last two weeks – and it didn’t come this morning.   I count 14 weeks when it should have come (13 if you exclude Christmas, but often they deliver the day before).  Am I living in an alternate universe where 2 out of 14 is a good strike rate?

Which reminds me of how irritating it is when Becker and Posner talk about needing to take more rights from more people in order to preserve these dinosaurs.  If they can’t deliver a paper to a paid subscriber – particularly one which has expressly put them on notice – what hope do they have?

0 Responses to “Why Newspapers deserve to die”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,350 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

