William Patry: Copyright Wars


William Patry: Copyright Wars

About a month ago (on November 5 this year) I ordered four books from Amazon, including William Patry’s “Moral Panics and the Copyright Wars”.

About an hour and a half ago I was in Borders at the Macquarie Centre and saw some of the books I had ordered.  Had I bought them from Borders it would have cost me maybe 2 or 3 times the price I paid.

About half an hour ago I got home and found my books had arrived.

About ten minutes ago I had a look at Mr Patry’s – well, to be frank, I just skipped to the conclusion:

“The Copyright Wars must be understood as archetypal responses of businesses that are inherently non-innovative and that rely on the innovation of others to succeed.  I cannot think of  a single significant innovation in either the creation or distribution of works of authorship that owes its origins to the copyright industries.  Being forced to rely on others’ innovatoin creates a great sense of insecurity that is reflected in efforts to control innovators and consumers…

In other areas where a government monopoly… is blatantly abused over a long period of time, it is taken away.” @198-199

Touche!

0 Responses to “William Patry: Copyright Wars”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,350 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

