What is up with My Firefox/Google &num=100


What is up with My Firefox/Google &num=100

Recently (?in the last 7-10 days) searching google from Firefox has become an exercise in frustration. I have a bookmarked search page which automatically takes me to an advanced google search with 100 results selected.   However, it’s now decided to show only 10 results at a time.  Nothing I do (other than using Konqueror) seems to be able to overcome it.  If I even edit the search results URL and add &num=100 it still seems to come back with 10 at a time.  Turning “instant” off seems to work, at least sometimes.  Whether javascript is on or off doesn’t seem to matter.

What is up here?  It’s starting to bug me.

6 Responses to “What is up with My Firefox/Google &num=100”


  1. 2 brendanscott 4 October 2010 at 10:04 pm

    The .com one limits me to 10 results
    However, the .com.au gives me 100 results.

    ?!

  2. 3 brendanscott 4 October 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Hmmmm

    For .com:

    If I turn “instant” off, it resets the url, removing &num=100. If I then add it back manually I get 100 results.

  3. 4 brendanscott 4 October 2010 at 10:30 pm

    If I then repeat the search in a new tab, I also get 100 results…
    Then, turn instant on, repeat the search (using open link in new tab from above), I get 10 results. If I then reload the tab which had 100 results in it, I get 10 results.

    Instant, whatever instant happens to be, seems to be the culprit. How do I auto turn it off?

  4. 6 brendanscott 14 January 2011 at 9:42 am

    if I open that link in a new tab I get 100 results
    however if I open a search page with as_qdr in the url (eg I’m trying to have a search bookmark) and type in foo I am limited to 10 results
    http://www.google.com/advanced_search?&as_qdr=all&num=100&hl=en


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,507 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

