Thank you web2py


After tearing my hair out last night trying to install TurboGears or Zope I had to give up.  The reason?  They both use egg based distribution systems and I could not, for the life of me, get setuptools to install properly root or no root, zypper or source install (on openSuSE).

I had decided to give up on looking into Python web frameworks, when I stumbled upon a mention of web2py.  It had a link to a comparison document – hmmm, that looks interesting, I’ll download that.  Oh, I see, hmmmm….  It also had a list of example apps to have a look through and actually see working.  By example 31 I was sold.  It wasn’t the normal obtuse surely-you-already-know-what-this-application-does partial  information – which is a particular failing of open source projects in general I find.

The icing on the cake was that it really, truly, can be downloaded, installed and with a test instance up and running in under 5 minutes (probably under 3, I didn’t actually time it).

I am so grateful that they have made it so easy for me to get up and running.

Thanks web2py.

2 Responses to “Thank you web2py”


  1. 1 ovidio 1 September 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Very good you have liked web2py, the faster development of software for the Internet. without doubt.My case was similar to yours, because it was needed to develop fast under pressure and fighting for a place in my work. Woe to the miraculous web2py arrived as an enchantress. ok you made the right choice.
    visit http://www.casacivil.pb.gov.br/Atos. Im from Brazil.{{}}’s


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Thank you web2py « Brendan Scott’s Weblog -- Topsy.com Trackback on 30 August 2010 at 4:57 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 214,882 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

