Vista Poisoning My Clock?? (Pt 3)


Vista Poisoning My Clock?? (Pt 3)

The Story so far.

I think it may not be Vista’s fault – or if it is, it may be some way that Linux interacts with the MB BIOS.  At 23:30 I rebooted from Vista.  During POST I entered the BIOS config to check the hardware clock – 23:30.  I left the BIOS and it proceeded to boot to Linux – once boot finished, time was 23:09.  Something is happening during the Linux boot sequence to throw off both system time and hardware clock time (hwclock –show matches system time).   I believe that in Linux the system time is read from the hardware clock on boot, then written on shut down.  If that’s correct then something is changnig the hardware clock before Linux loads it for System time.

4 Responses to “Vista Poisoning My Clock?? (Pt 3)”


  1. 1 James H 25 September 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Have you checked the /etc/ntpd.conf (or ntp.conf)
    ntp may be starting up and sync to some source where its setting incorrect time.

  2. 2 brendanscott 25 September 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Thanks for the heads up – but alas, it seems not.
    the only entries are 127.127.1.0

    However, what I think I will do is enable full logging and add ntp to start up. At least I’ll have a record of what’s happening then.

  3. 3 brendanscott 25 September 2009 at 9:37 pm

    By the way, I don’t think it would be an ntp issue because the offset to correct time is always different.


  1. 1 Vista Poisoning my Clock??? Pt 4 « Brendan Scott’s Weblog Trackback on 30 September 2009 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,507 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

