Vista Poisoning my Clock???


Vista Poisoning my Clock???

Started dual booting a little while ago (now that’s a story in itself!).  I’ve noticed my clock in Linux is now off all the time.  I switched from UTC to local time, but it doesn’t seem to make any difference (and the time offsets are not consistent – this morning, for example, Linux was off by 3 hours and 9 minutes). Vista’s time seems to remain consistent between reboots (Linux-> Vista or Vista-> Vista) but when I boot up Linux the time is off (by some offset, but I don’t think its a consistent offset).  As a for-example, I turned the machine off around 10:20 this morning, and turned on at 12:09pm.  In that time the clock lagged by 24 minutes.  I doubt it’s the battery as the time was right when I booted Vista first thing this morning.

I can’t find anything similar on the web…

Any thoughts?

6 Responses to “Vista Poisoning my Clock???”


  1. 1 Anonymous 17 September 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Its probably NTP. Not sure can check whether its on in both OS’s.

  2. 2 brendanscott 17 September 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Not in vista – well, I doubt it, b/c I’ve turned off the network interface in vista (the only way i could get vista to stop annoying me continually).

  3. 3 Gabriel 18 September 2009 at 10:30 am

    The other option is to update your clock every time you boot.

    ntpdate au.pool.ntp.org

    Will update your clock add the line to your rc.local or run it as a cron job from the sudo crontab.

  4. 4 brendanscott 18 September 2009 at 11:22 am

    Gabriel – thanks will use that to update the time, but would still like to work out the cause.
    I need to dig out and boot to a live cd and see what it has to say about the time.


  1. 1 Vista Poisoning My Clock?? (Pt 3) « Brendan Scott’s Weblog Trackback on 23 September 2009 at 11:42 pm
  2. 2 Vista Poisoning my Clock??? Pt 4 « Brendan Scott’s Weblog Trackback on 28 September 2009 at 11:20 am

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 219,793 hits

OSWALD Newsletter

If you would like to receive OSWALD, a weekly open source news digest please send an email to oswald (with the subject "subscribe") at opensourcelaw.biz

